side menu icon

ToGetHerThere Campaign Leadership Team

Campaign Leadership Roster_CURRENT_Page_1
Honorary Campaign Chairs

Charlotte Berry, Honorary Chair, Columbia

Charlotte has long been involved with GSSC-MM.  She’s an active civic leader in Columbia and across the state. A graduate of Mary Baldwin College in Staunton, VA, Charlotte is the founding chairwoman of the National Museum Committee (History and Education Center) of the American Red Cross.


Susu Phifer Johnson, Honorary Chair, Spartanburg

Susu has long been involved with GSSC-MM. A Life Trustee of Converse College’s Board of Trustees, Susu was also the first woman to serve as both the Campaign Chair and Board Chair of the United Way of the Piedmont. She currently serves on the Board of Spartanburg Academic Movement (SAM).


Minor Mickel Shaw, Honorary Chair, Greenville

Minor is a long time member of GSSC-MM. She is currently the president of Micco, LLC, and serves as chair of the Daniel-Mickel Foundation, the Duke Endowment Foundation and the GSP Airport Commission. Minor also sits on the board for multiple organizations around the state including BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina and Columbia Funds. 

Lou Kennedy, Public Phase Honorary Chair, Columbia

President/CEO and Owner of Nephron Pharmaceuticals Corp, Lou has served on the boards for Palmetto Conversation Foundation, NBSC, and Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. She is also a member of the Midlands Business Leadership Group.


Campaign Steering Committee

Karen Mitchell, Campaign Chair

Karen has a long history and active participation with GSSC-MM and Girl Scouting. Currently, she is serving her third term on the GSSC-MM Board of Directors. Karen has been involved with several civic-related organizations including Mary Black Foundation, United Way of Piedmont and the University of South Carolina Upstate Foundation. 


Chair, GSSC-MM Board of Directors and Greenville Public Phase Committee

Rebecca is Chair of the Board of Directors for GSSC-MM, where she has served many roles throughout the council and organization. A graduate of Presbyterian College, she has worked with United Way of Greenville County in many roles including Chair of the Board of Directors. Rebecca is the former General Manager of Construction and Maintenance for Duke Energy.


E. Meredith Manning, Chair, Public Phase and Midlands Public Phase Committee

Assistant Vice President and Senior Deputy General Counsel at BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina, Meredith is a Sustaining Member of the Junior League of Columbia. She has also served as board member and chairman of Sandhills School; Youth Committee member and chairman at Trinity Episcopal Cathedral; and was a member of Leadership Columbia.


Cathy McCabe, Spartanburg Public Phase Committee Chair

Cathy has been involved with Girl Scouts for a number of years including serving as former president of Girl Scouts of the Piedmont Area Council. She currently is the City Attorney for the City of Spartanburg where she has served since 2007. In the community, Cathy has served two terms as President of the Breakfast of Spartanburg Business and Professional Woman. She was also named Business and Professional Woman of the Year by South Carolina Women of Accomplishment in 2008.

Midlands Public Phase Committee

E. Meredith Manning, Midlands Committee Chair

Stacey Atkinson, Youth in Transition Advocate, Columbia

Kris Burns, Community Volunteer, Columbia

Ione Cockrell, Certified Financial Planner, Ione H. Cockrell Financial Planners, Columbia

Hammond Edwards, Loan Officer, SC Community Bank, Columbia

Tonya Green, Business Systems Analyst, SCE&G, Winnsboro

Frances Griggs, Senior VP and General Counsel, AgFirst Farm Credit Bank, Camden

Meghan Hughes, ED, EngenuitySC & Senior Project Manager, Sagacious Partners, Columbia

Maggie Meekins, Attorney, USC Children's Law Center, Columbia

Henry Roe, Vice President, Colliers International, Columbia

Linda Salane, CEO, WNN Consulting, Columbia

Mary Winter Teaster, Senior Brokerage Associate, Colliers International, Columbia

Elizabeth Trenbeath, Franchisee, Snelling Staffing Services, Lexington

Ashlye Wilkerson, Entrepreneur, Columbia

Karen Wingo, Director, Division of State HR, SC Dept of Administration, Columbia

Greenville Campaign Committee

Chair, GSSC-MM Board of Directors and Greenville Public Phase Committee


Penny Cooper, Retired, President/CEO, Girl Scouts of South Carolina-Mountains to Midlands, Greenville


Lillian Brock Flemming, City Councilwoman, Retired Educator, Greenville

Angie Gossett, Regional Office Director, BlueCross BlueShield of SC, Greenville

Lesley Moore, Attorney, Freeman & Moore, PC, Greenville

Magaly Penn, Retired Diversity Professional, Michelin, Greenville

Carol Simpson, Attorney, Carol Simpson Law Offices, Greenville

Spartanburg Campaign Committee

Cathy McCabe, Spartanburg Committee Chair

Patty Bock, Economic Development Director, City of Spartanburg

Reed Brown, Vice President, Brown Packing Co., Gaffney

Dr. Gloria W. Close, ED, Citizen Scholars & Early College, Counselor, School District 7, Spartanburg

Doris Tidwell, Retired Elementary Principal, Spartanburg

Margaret Young, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLC, Spartanburg

Capital Campaign Leadership Staff

Lee Ann Maley, Project Manager - Advancement

Lee Ann has been involved with Girl Scouting for more than 25 years. Her experience with membership, volunteer development, governance, communications/marketing and fund development make her a valuable asset to the campaign leadership team. She has served on the boards of the American Red Cross Piedmont Chapter, Harry C. White Manor and the Association of Fundraising Professionals SC Piedmont Chapter.

For more information on the Cathy Novinger Girl Scout Leadership Center call 1.800.849.GIRL or email Lee Ann Maley.