side menu icon

Boots and Pearls

See the event program for the 2021 Boots & Pearls Karen H. Mitchell Women of Distinction Awards here.

2021 Honorees: Dr. Amy Baruch and Ms. Laura Ringo

Thursday, October 14
           6:30 p.m
           Drayton Mills Grand Lawn
           1802 Drayton Road
           Spartanburg, SC 29307

Our 2021 Honorees


Thank you to our sponsors:

BlueCross BlueShield of SC
Contec, Inc.

Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System

Brown Packing Company, Inc.
Ruth Cate
Susu & George Dean Johnson, Jr.
Susan Schneider

Cate & Brough, P.A.
Dr. Gloria Webb Close
Julia Kelly Crow
J. Ruth Littlejohn
Karen & Bob Mitchell
Park National Bank
Spartanburg Water System

Support a Girl:

Heather and Winthrop Allen
Marjorie Boafo Appiah
Dr. Amy Baruch
City of Spartanburg
Suzy Cole
Amy Curtis
Lillian Brock Flemming
Marianna Black Habisreutinger
Carolyn C. Harbison
Roberta Hurley
Latrice Spann Johnson
Marilyn Kelley
Beth & Andy Lancaster
Sharon Lauer
Rebecca Lever
Tina Lyon
Julia D. Lyons
Sarah and Phil Maiberger
Cathy & Jim McCabe
McMillan Pazdan Smith Architecture 
Lesley R. Moore
Heather & Ray Mullman
Kristina S. Muñoz
Nancy Raley
Laura Ringo
Jane V. Turner

This year's Women of Distinction will continue our founder's century-old tradition of championing girls and demonstrating that women can succeed in any endeavor they choose. Our honorees' professional backgrounds and community involvement will inspire girls to realize their full potential.

First launched in 1993 in Columbia, SC, the Women of Distinction Event is a recognition and fundraising dinner that celebrates and honors outstanding women for their professional accomplishments, service to others, and impact on their community. Each year the Girl Scouts call upon the public to help identify women who exemplify excellence both through their professional achievements as well as their community volunteerism. Honorees are chosen based on four criteria: professional/community leadership, professional/community service, strong role model for girls and community visibility.

Our past honorees:

Randi Berry
Susu Johnson

Ruth L. Cate
Renee Buyck Romberger

Joy Ayers Couch
Dr. Fern Powell

Dr. Gloria Webb Close
Kathy Dunleavy
Dr. Kay E. Woodward

Rep. Rita Ann Allison
Robyn Hussa Farrell

Valerie Manatis Barnet
Mary Ann Deku
Marsha H. Gibbs

Hope Blackley-Logan
Elaine Smith

J. Ruth Littlejohn
Stacy McBride